Advice on swim type?

Ask questions about Swim Types and chat to other swimmers of the same type!
thigger

Advice on swim type?

Postby thigger » Wed Oct 10, 2012 11:19 pm

Hi,

I'm wondering if anyone can advise me on my swim type so I can get the correct card of exercises. Also, if anyone has any other advice I'd be grateful!

I'm a relative novice - started swimming for triathlon about 2yrs ago. I've always been fairly comfortable in and around water though (sailing background).

I'm 6'4" and weigh 200lbs, though I'm not fat - I can quite easily sit on the bottom of the pool even with a fair bit of air in my lungs. My legs are long for my height (37" inside leg) and my arms are quite long (3" 'ape index').

I swim at a stroke rate of about 60 I think most of the time (probably 55-65). Relaxed swimming is about 2:00/100m, CSS about 1:40, max sprint about 1:15 (though I can't keep this up for more than 50m).

I'm terrible at kicking (the girls I normally swim with go streaming past during kick sets, despite being about the same speed or slightly slower at other times); a pull buoy makes no difference to my speed. I've been accused of 'windmilling' and it's been suggested I should do catch-up sets to increase my glide (though I'm not sure if I should do this when the Swim Smooth book and website suggest it can be a bad thing).

I seem to be fairly 'mono-paced' - I swim roughly the same pace (1:40 or nearby) in a 400m pool sprint triathlon as in a 3800m ironman (though the IM is in open water and a wetsuit which helps). Swimming even a few seconds faster than 1:40 feels really hard and makes me quite out of breath.

Any thoughts? I seem to match a bit of 'Arnie' and 'Swinger' though the automated form on the website adds in the possibility of 'Overglider' and even 'Kicktastic' which seems bizarre!

Thanks for your help!

SolarEnergy

Re: Advice on swim type?

Postby SolarEnergy » Thu Oct 11, 2012 3:08 am

Of course I got thoughts...

http://www.arhy.org/swim-predict