Swimsmooth v Total Immersion

Welcome! Ask your questions and chat about swimming, technique, swimming training or Mr Smooth.

Swimsmooth v Total Immersion

Postby boroboy » Thu Feb 17, 2011 11:13 am

Hi All. I've been swimming for approx 6 months - just completed 4 ocean swims (2K) and currently doing plenty of squad training at the pool. However, I acknowledge my technique is awful and I need to go right back to square one. I'm currently in the 'buy everything to do with swimming' mode and have just purchased the TI DVD's (haven't watched yet) - and also just about to buy the Swimsnmooth DVD set (and Wetronome when its in stock).

My questions - is there much difference betyween the two schools in terms of overall phiolosophy / technique?, and can I use both and cherry pick what works for me or should I stick to one set only?

Thx

Mick
boroboy

Re: Swimsmooth v Total Immersion

Postby andresmuro » Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:17 pm

Both can be good ways to improve swimming. However, they stress different styles. Total Immersion stresses longer strokes, stroke reduction, what is often referred as front quadrant swimming, and catch up freestyle drills. Front Quadrant Swimming (FQS) is when your recovering arm enters the quadrant in front of your shoulder while the other arm is still in front of your shoulder. TI is an exaggerated version of this. It encourages you to keep your front arm gliding while the other arm enters the water.

Swimsmooth on the other hand encourages you to increase your stroke which may lead to what is referred to a kayak style with one arm entering the water while the other one is exiting. It encourages that you increase your stroke rate and kick rate and try to establish a rhythm.

The higher stroke rate presumably will help you negotiate better the choppiness of open water swimming while a lower stroke rate may be more efficient in the pool.